SC/ ST CELL

The Indian Constitution has identified Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes as the two most backward groups of Indian Society. They include all such castes, races or tribes, which have been declared as scheduled castes and scheduled tribes by the Constitution of India under the provisions of Article 341 and 342 of the Constitution of India. Scheduled Castes generally represent those communities, which have suffered from the stigma of untouchability in one form or the other. Scheduled Tribes are generally those who have been living in seclusion in hills and forests, more or less untouched by modern civilization and development. Scheduled Castes constitute about 15 per cent of the total population of the country while Scheduled Tribes constitute about 7.5 per cent of the total Indian Population. Thus, together, these groups constitute a little more than one fifth of the total population of the country.

In view of the constitutional provision and UGC guideline for SC/ST, Netaji Satabarshiki Mahavidyalaya takes the specific step for introduction of the cell for SC/ST students.

Objectives of the Cell:

SC/ST Cell has been constituted in the College in the last few years to resolve all the affairs and problems related to the SC/ST Employees and Students. The cell is constituted of the representatives from the teachers and non teaching staff. Following are the important assignments under SC/ST Cell:

- 1. Look into the general welfare and progression of the SC/ST students.
- 2. Maintaining the ratio of SC/ST reservation in the Institute according to the Constitutional provision and UGC guideline in the time of admission and appointment.
- 3. Making sure that all the SC/ST candidates get the due grants/scholarships/ allowances from the Govt. as per the rule.
- 4. Registering the complaints in writing from of SC/ST teachers, employees, and students and address it to concerned person for steps.
- 5. Having updated knowledge of the government benefits and facilities to the SC/ST candidates.

The members of the Cell are as follows-

Dr. Pradip Kumar Mandal

Prof. Hena Biswas

Prof. Jitendra Nath Burman

Prof. Tania Parvin

Sri Pranab Saha

Md. Abdul Kader Mondal

Relevant link: https://www.ugc.ac.in/oldpdf/xplanpdf/special_cell.pdf